Kitsune Kon 2017!

This post had to jump the queue of in-progress posts because some people have been having difficulties accessing the Google Photos album of photos I took and shared. Without further ado, here’s the photos.  Below the slideshow is a longer blog post.  If you know a furry that isn’t tagged, please let me know on my Twitter @ColbyPupGB or on Telegram @ColbyPup, so I can have them tagged properly.  Warning, there’s an ugly guy in a blue shirt in some of these photos (it’s me).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sorry for no recent updates, been working on a few, including updates on Cody’s powerchair, which he received July 13th.  He’s been zooming around quite a bit.

Cody is a big fan of anime, I’ve seen only two of the staples of 90s-kid culture, Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh.  We’d planned on going there this year to check it out.  When I found out several Wisconsin Furs were going to be attending as well, I was enthused.  On Friday, we went for a walk downtown and already found many con-goers on the town and ended up striking up a conversation with a couple before we decided to do the whole weekend at the Con instead of Saturday as we had originally planned.

That turned out to be a good idea, since we found out later that Saturday admission was $30 per pass, meanwhile, we got weekend passes for $40 since we managed to nab ours at the pre-registration price Friday evening.

I was incredibly impressed by the quality and effort put into cosplay by the attendees. Most of the cosplay I didn’t recognize, however, thanks to Cody’s love of Undertale, I did recognize a group of con-goers cosplaying as Sans, Toriel, and Papyrus.  Toriel, I believe, ended up winning an award at the cosplay contest.

My list of anime recommendations has also grown, soon enough I’m going to have to buckle down and start watching these, especially before next July.

Saturday was an amazing day for me.  I saw more furries in one day than I’d seen in my short time involved with the Furry Fandom and it was exhilarating for someone still new.  I took a bunch of photographs, but not as many as I wanted due to the impromptu nature of the meet.  Tentatively I have planned to apply as a staffer for the con next year and am considering organizing a panel for a simultaneous Wisconsin Furs meet-and-greet and photo shoot.

Sunday, we went to two con panels, neither of which had more attendees than the number of furries that showed up Saturday for the meet, so my tentative plan is to volunteer to staff Kitsune Kon 2018 and host a Wisconsin Furs meet and photoshoot panel.

All in all, this was a fun experience for me, despite my relative novice experience with anime.

Leave a comment